4.5 C
New York

African Union is now a G20 Permanent Member


The announcement at G20 Inaugural Session – African Union is now a G20 permanent member

The African Union (AU) on Saturday became a permanent member of the Group of 20 largest economies (G20) of the world with Prime Minister Narendra Modi announcing its entry into the top global body, signalling a significant development in global diplomacy.

African Union (AU) and it’s significance
The African Union (AU) is a continental organization of 55 African member states established in 2001. Its goals include promoting peace, political integration, economic cooperation, social development, and human rights protection. The AU also encourages infrastructure development and acts as a collective voice for Africa in global affairs. It plays a crucial role in addressing regional challenges and fostering unity and collaboration among African nations PM Modi has consistently emphasized Africa as a “top priority” in India’s foreign policy. India is dedicated to representing the voices of those who may feel marginalized in global affairs, especially in the context of the African continent.

AU President Assumes Full Membership

Following Narendra Modi Prime Minister of India announcement, Azali Assoumani, the President of the Union of Comoros and chairperson of the AU, immediately took a seat as a full-fledged member of the G20, affirming the AU’s newfound status.

Related articles

Recent articles